
California now offers a 7.5% state income tax credit on 
the purchase and installation costs of solar or wind energy systems.
That’s good news for you and the environment.  

The Solar and Wind Energy System Tax Credit is:
• Either 7.5% of the net system cost or $4.50 per watt, whichever is less.

• Valid for certified photovoltaic or wind generating systems sized up 
to 200 kW and installed in California between January 1, 2004 and 
December 31, 2005 (15% credit was available Jan 1, 2001 - Dec 31, 2003).

• Taken against the net cost of the system (i.e., the remaining balance of
eligible system costs after deducting the value of any municipal, state, or
federally sponsored incentives).

• Carried forward up to seven years, provided the tax credit is not used in 
its entirety in the same year the system is purchased.

• Nonrefundable—you cannot take any remaining credit balance as cash.

ÔValid for only one eligible system per legal parcel of property or per
taxpayer address in California. 

• Allowable for grid connected systems only.  

Certain restrictions apply:
Taxpayers claiming the credit cannot sell the electricity produced by the system,
but may utilize California’s net metering law, if eligible. The tax credit will be
forfeited if a system is sold or removed within one year from the date it was first
placed in service. The credit amount would then be added to the taxpayer's net
tax for the taxable year the system was sold or removed.

To claim your credit:
• Download a copy of FTB Form 3508. 

www.ftb.ca.gov/forms
• Download a Solar or Wind Energy System Credit Worksheet 

and lists of eligible system components.
www.consumerenergycenter.org/renewable/tax_credit

• Special instructions are provided on FTB Form 3508 for “S” corporations,
estates or trusts, partnerships and Limited Liability Companies (LLCs)
classified as partnerships.

• “S” corporations and some other taxpayers may not be eligible to claim
the full amount of the tax credit. Please refer to the “Limitations” section
on page 2 of FTB Form 3508. 
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To calculate your tax credit:
The tax credit is equal to 7.5% of the net installed system cost, or $4.50 per watt of rated peak generating capacity, whichever is less.  

Total installed system cost Rated peak generating capacity
– Municipal, state, or federal incentives                                                                                                  (in watts)1

Net installed system cost OR x 4.5
x 0.075 TOTAL TAX CREDIT

TOTAL TAX CREDIT
WHICHEVER IS LESS

EXAMPLE: Residential Installation

EXAMPLE: Commercial Installation

Total System Size 2.4 Kilowatts AC
Total Installed System Cost $19,200.00
California State Rebate ($3.20/watt) – $7,680.002

Net Installed System Cost $11,520.00

7.5% CA Tax Credit (all in year 1 or spread over 7 years) – $864.00
Final Cost                                                                                                               $10,656.00

Total System Size 25 Kilowatts AC
Total Installed System Cost $ 175,000.00
California State Rebate ($3.20/watt) – $ 80,000.00
Federal 10% Investment Tax Credit (businesses only) – $ 9,500.00
Net Installed System Cost $85,500.00

7.5% Tax Credit (all in year 1 or spread over 7 years) – $6,41 2.50
5-Year Federal Accelerated Depreciation Savings3 (34% tax rate) – $30,685.00
State Depreciation Savings4 (6.5% tax rate) – $5,758.20
Final Cost (in year 6 after final depreciation) $42,644.305

Harness the Power All Around Us
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1     Rated peak generating capacity, measured in alternating current (AC) watts, considers the PTC rating and inverter efficiency, both of which reduce the system output.
2     Actual rebate amounts will vary depending on system components and installation. Rebate levels are reduced about 5% every 6 months. Rebates subject to funding availability.

 

3 Calculated as follows: (total installed system cost - state rebate - 1/2 of the 10% federal investment tax credit) x federal income tax rate. Assumes “non-corporate” business taxpayer
using MACRS. Please note that “corporate” business taxpayers may not use MACRS for California depreciation calculations and should instead use a 12-year recovery period.

4 Calculated as follows: (total installed system cost - state rebate - 7.5% tax credit) x state income tax rate.
5 Final costs will vary depending upon each taxpayer’s individual situation and should be determined with the assistance of a qualified tax professional.

For more information about:
The worksheet, system certification, or state rebates
California Energy Commission
(800) 555-7794
renewable@energy.state.ca.us
www.consumerenergycenter.org/erprebate

FTB Form 3508 or other tax-related questions
California Franchise Tax Board
(800) 852-5711
www.ftb.ca.gov
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