View as a Web page

Image of New Commissioners Scott and Hochschild Meet the Newest Commissioners

New Faces at the Energy Commission

Commissioners David Hochschild and Janea A. Scott were both appointed to the California Energy Commission by Governor Jerry Brown in February 2013. The Governor appoints, with Senate confirmation, five Commissioners to staggered five-year terms. The Commissioners must represent specific areas of expertise: law, environment, economics, science/engineering, and the public at large.

Hochschild fills the Energy Commission's environmental position on the Commission. For his work advancing clean energy, Commissioner Hochschild received the Sierra Club's Trailblazer Award, the American Lung Association's Clean Air Hero Award and the U.S. Department of Energy's Million Solar Roof True Champion Award. Commissioner Hochschild holds a B.A. degree from Swarthmore College and a Masters of Public Policy degree from Harvard's Kennedy School of Government. He was a Coro Fellow in Public Affairs.

Scott fills the Public Member position. Previously, Commissioner Scott worked at the U.S. Department of the Interior in the Office of the Secretary as the Deputy Counselor for Renewable Energy and as the Special Assistant to the Counselor to the Secretary. She received her Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Colorado Law School and her Masters and Bachelors of Science in Earth Systems from Stanford University.