Commissioners at the California Energy Commission

The governor appoints, with Senate confirmation, five commissioners to staggered five-year terms. The commissioners must come from and represent specific areas of expertise: law, environment, economics, science/engineering, and the public at large.



Photo of Chair Weisenmiller

Chair
Robert B. Weisenmiller, Ph.D.
Appointment Designation: Engineer/Scientist

Lead Policy Areas: Climate Change & Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Combined Heat & Power, Electricity – Supply & Demand, Natural Gas, Legislation & Intergovernmental Affairs, Budget & Management, Military, Nuclear, and Research & Development
Active Committee: Bottle Rock Complaint


Photo of Commissioner Douglas

Commissioner
Karen Douglas, J.D.
Appointment Designation: Attorney

Lead Policy Areas: Siting, Desert Renewable Energy Conservation Plan (DRECP), Compliance and Enforcement
Active Siting Cases: Palen Amendment, Blythe Amendment, Hydrogen Energy California (HECA), El Segundo Amendment, Huntington Beach Energy Project, Redondo Beach Energy Project


Photo of Commissioner Hochschild

Commissioner
David Hochschild
Appointment Designation: Environmental

Lead Policy Areas: Renewables
Active Siting Cases: Palen Amendment


Photo of Commissioner McAllister

Commissioner
Andrew McAllister
Appointment Designation: Economist

Lead Policy Areas: Energy Efficiency
Active Siting Cases: Huntington Beach Energy Project, Hydrogen Energy California (HECA)


Photo of Commissioner Scott

Commissioner
Janea A. Scott
Appointment Designation: Public Member

Lead Policy Areas: Transportation, 2014 Integrated Energy Policy Report Update, Western Regional Planning
Active Siting Cases: El Segundo Amendment, Redondo Beach Energy Project



Commissioner's Terms of Office

The Warren-Alquist Act became effective January 7, 1975, and Governor Jerry Brown appointed the first commissioners. Thus, each Commissioner's five-year-term expires on January 6th of the year in which that particular office needs to be appointed or re-appointed. Section 25206 of the Act gives the Governor 30 days to appoint a new commissioner or re-appoint the incumbent, and if the Governor fails to do so within that period, the Senate Rules Committee may appoint someone to that office. Governors have often made informal arrangements with the Chair of the Senate Rules Committee to give themselves more time.

Commissioners usually continue to serve until a new commissioner is appointed. Section 1302 of the Government Code says, "Every officer whose term has expired shall continue to discharge the duties of his office until his successor has qualified." This means that commissioners can continue to serve if they choose to do so until another person is appointed and takes the oath of office. Other provisions of the Government Code limit this "hold over" service normally to 60 days. If the Governor has not acted in that period of time, the office becomes "vacant" even if the former incumbent is willing to continue to serve.