Commissioners at the California Energy Commission

The governor appoints, with Senate confirmation, five commissioners to staggered five-year terms. The commissioners must come from and represent specific areas of expertise: law, environment, economics, science/engineering, and the public at large.

Photo of Chair Weisenmiller

Robert B. Weisenmiller, Ph.D.
Appointment Designation: Engineer/Scientist

Lead Policy Areas: Climate Change & Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Combined Heat & Power, Electricity – Supply & Demand, Natural Gas, Legislation & Intergovernmental Affairs, Budget & Management, Military, Nuclear, and Research & Development, International
Active Committee: Audit

Photo of Commissioner Douglas

Karen Douglas, J.D.
Appointment Designation: Attorney

Lead Policy Areas: Siting, Compliance and Enforcement, and 2016 Integrated Energy Policy Report, and the Desert Renewable Energy Conservation Plan
Active Siting Cases: Alamitos Energy Center, El Segundo Energy Center Amendment, High Desert Power Plant Project, Huntington Beach Energy Project, Hydrogen Energy California (HECA), Palmdale Energy Project, Puente Power Project, Redondo Beach Energy Project, Sonoran Energy Project (Blythe II)

Photo of Commissioner Hochschild

David Hochschild
Appointment Designation: Environmental

Lead Policy Areas: Renewables
Active Siting Cases: Palen Solar Power Project Amendment

Photo of Commissioner McAllister

Andrew McAllister Ph.D.
Appointment Designation: Economist

Lead Policy Areas: Energy Efficiency, 2015 Integrated Energy Policy Report
Active Siting Cases: Huntington Beach Energy Project, Hydrogen Energy Amendment California (HECA), Carlsbad Energy Center

Photo of Commissioner Scott

Janea A. Scott, J.D.
Appointment Designation: Public Member

Lead Policy Areas: Transportation, Western Regional Planning
Active Siting Cases:Puente Power Project, Redondo Beach Energy Project, Alamitos Energy Center, El Segundo Energy Center Amendment, Palmdale Energy Project, Sonoran Energy Project (Blythe II)

Commissioner's Terms of Office

The Warren-Alquist Act became effective January 7, 1975, and Governor Jerry Brown appointed the first commissioners. Thus, each Commissioner's five-year-term expires on January 6th of the year in which that particular office needs to be appointed or re-appointed. Section 25206 of the Act gives the Governor 30 days to appoint a new commissioner or re-appoint the incumbent, and if the Governor fails to do so within that period, the Senate Rules Committee may appoint someone to that office. Governors have often made informal arrangements with the Chair of the Senate Rules Committee to give themselves more time.

Commissioners usually continue to serve until a new commissioner is appointed. Section 1302 of the Government Code says, "Every officer whose term has expired shall continue to discharge the duties of his office until his successor has qualified." This means that commissioners can continue to serve if they choose to do so until another person is appointed and takes the oath of office. Other provisions of the Government Code limit this "hold over" service normally to 60 days. If the Governor has not acted in that period of time, the office becomes "vacant" even if the former incumbent is willing to continue to serve.