



California Energy Commission May 8,2024 Business Meeting Backup Materials for Agenda Item No 5: DACAG Appointments

The following backup materials for the above-referenced agenda item are available as described below:

1. Proposed Resolution, attached below.

To stay informed about this project and receive documents as they are filed, please subscribe to the Disadvantaged Communities Advisory Group proceeding Topic, which can be accessed here: <u>https://www.energy.ca.gov/about/campaigns/equity-and-diversity/disadvantaged-communities-advisory-group</u>. The Topic sends out email notifications and direct links when documents are filed in the proceeding docket.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

STATE ENERGY RESOURCES CONSERVATION AND DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

[PROPOSED] APPOINTMENT OF DISADVANTAGED COMMUNITIES ADVISORY GROUP MEMBERS

WHEREAS, Senate Bill 350 (De León, Chapter 547, Statues of 2015) (SB 350), as codified in California Public Utilities Code Section 400(g), requires the California Energy Commission (CEC) and the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) to establish a Disadvantaged Communities Advisory Group (DACAG) consisting of representatives from disadvantaged communities; and

WHEREAS, the DACAG reviews and advises CEC and CPUC on how clean energy and pollution reduction programs and policies can benefit and be effective for disadvantaged communities; and

WHEREAS, the Charter of the DACAG allows for members to be appointed by CEC and CPUC for two-year terms, and be reappointed for up to three consecutive terms; and

WHEREAS, two (2) current DACAG members have expiring terms, Fred Beihn and Julia Hatton, and each are eligible and seek to serve an additional two-year term beginning May 2024; and

WHEREAS, three (3) DACAG member terms expired and have served the maximum amount of terms under the DACAG Charter and CEC wishes to fill their vacated seats beginning in May 2024; and

WHEREAS, CEC and CPUC staff solicited applications from candidates interested in being appointed to the DACAG and Abimael Chavez-Hernandez, Chelsea Kirk, and Sarah Sharpe are seeking appointment for two-year terms beginning May 2024; and

WHEREAS, Commissioners Gallardo and Monahan from the CEC, and Commissioners Houck and Douglas from the CPUC jointly nominate to appoint Fred Beihn, Julia Hatton, Abimael Chavez-Hernandez, Chelsea Kirk, and Sarah Sharpe to the DACAG; and

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the CEC accepts the Commissioners' joint nomination and approves the appointments of Fred Beihn, Julia Hatton, Abimael Chavez-Hernandez, Chelsea Kirk, and Sarah Sharpe to the DACAG for two-year terms beginning May 2024.

CERTIFICATION

The undersigned Secretariat to the CEC does hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true, and correct copy of a resolution duly and regularly adopted at a meeting of the CEC held on May 8, 2024.

AYE: NAY: ABSENT: ABSTAIN:

Dated:

Kristine Banaag Secretariat