California Energy Maps

List of All Energy Maps

California Building Climate Zone Map

map showing climate zones in Calif.

Google Earth Icon
California Climate Zones on Google EarthTM

Download a more detailed Climate Zone Map
(adobe PDF, 1 page, 4.1 megabytes)

List of climate zones areas by City, Towns and other Locations:

Climate Zones by City List (Acrobat PDF)
From the 2013 Building Standards Reference Appendices (Appendix JA2)

List of climate zones areas by zipcode:
(Updated January 2015)

Climate Zones by Zipcode List (Acrobat PDF)

Climate Zones by Zipcode List (MS Excel)

Climate Zone Weather Data

U.S. Dept. of Energy in "EnergyPlus" Weather Format

Google Earth Icon

California Climate Zones on Google EarthTM

Outlines of California's 16 Climate Zones have been overlaid on the aerial images of Google Earth.
This might be useful to look at the boundary areas between two climate zones. The outlines are based on the GIS (Arcview) shapes.

Google Earth is free broadband, 3D application (currrently in beta testing) that can be downloaded from their website: (click get free version on the top right corner). Note: Not all computers and operating systems can run the Google Earth software.

Once you download, install and launch the application, download and open the Climate Zones CA-CZ.kmz 120 kb file (right-click this link to download) using the software. Since the free version does not allow labeling on the map, climate zones can be selectively viewed by using the check box along side each layer. We suggest that you uncheck all the climate zones and then select only the one of interest at the time to view.

For more information regarding the climate zone map, please refer to the Title 24 Standards or contact the Title 24, Energy Efficiency Standards Hotline at:

800-772-3300 (toll free in Calif.)

Please Note:

The numbers used in the climate zone map don't have a title or legend. The California climate zones shown in this map are not the same as what we commonly call an area like desert or alpine climate. The climate zones are based on energy use, temperature, weather and other factors. They are bascially a geographic area that has similar climatic characteristics.

Our Title 24 energy efficiency standards explains it this way in the glossary section:

"The Energy Commission established 16 climate zones that represent a geographic area for which an energy budget is established. These energy budgets are the basis for the standards...." "(An) energy budget is the maximum amount of energy that a building, or portion of a building...can be designed to consume per year."

"The Energy Commission originally developed weather data for each climate zone by using unmodified (but error-screened) data for a representative city and weather year (representative months from various years). The Energy Commission analyzed weather data from weather stations selected for (1) reliability of data, (2) currency of data, (3) proximity to population centers, and (4) non-duplication of stations within a climate zone.

"Using this information, they created representative temperature data for each zone. The remainder of the weather data for each zone is still that of the representative city. The representative city for each climate zone (CZ) is:

CZ 1: Arcata
CZ 2: Santa Rosa
CZ 3: Oakland
CZ 4: Sunnyvale
CZ 5: Santa Maria
CZ 6: Los Angeles
CZ 7: San Diego
CZ 8: El Toro
CZ 9: Pasadena
CZ10: Riverside
CZ11: Red Bluff
CZ12: Sacramento
CZ13: Fresno
CZ14: China Lake
CZ15: El Centro
CZ16: Mount Shasta