News Release

For Immediate Release: May 21, 1996
Media Contact: Claudia Chandler -- 916 - 654 - 4989

California Energy Chief To Receive
Public Service Award at D.C. Event

The Alliance to Save Energy will present its outstanding national public service award to California Energy Commission Chairman Charles R. Imbrecht during its black-tie "Evening with the Stars of Energy Efficiency" at the Galleria in Washington, D.C. June 6.

Imbrecht will receive the Charles H. Percy Award for meritorious public service, which is named for the former United States Senator from Illinois, the Alliance's founding chair.

Percy will serve as honorary chairman of the $1,000-a-plate dinner that will also honor the U.S. Department of Defense and Owens Corning, the insulation company.

Founded in Washington, D.C. in 1977, the influential Alliance promotes energy efficiency to strengthen the economy, improve the environment, make housing more affordable and move the country toward energy independence. The non- profit's board of directors is a veritable who's who of business, government, environmental and consumer leaders who ensure that the benefits of energy efficiency are understood and pursued by key decision makers in the federal, state and local levels.

The group is honoring Imbrecht for steering the Commission to initiate "a broad array of energy efficiency initiatives, resulting in millions of dollars of energy savings for business and consumers and expanding markets for energy efficiency products and services."

Previous winners of the Charles H. Percy Award include U.S. Senators Mark Hatfield of Oregon and James Wirth of Colorado, retired U.S. Congressman Philip R. Sharp of Indiana, and Maurice Strong, secretary general of the United Nations "Earth Summit" in Rio de Janeiro in 1992.

As California's energy chief, Imbrecht has presided over the state's portfolio approach to energy -- developing diverse and indigenous energy resources, from geotheral to solar and wind -- and its success in improving energy efficiency and use of clean combustion technologies here and abroad.

Under Imbrecht's leadership, the Commission has made partnership with the private sector a hallmark, as it reaches out to the private sector to fully understand the energy world, including the most significant issue confronting it today -- the restructuring of the electric utility industry.

Co-chairs for the dinner to benefit the Alliance are Richard Abdoo, chairman and chief executive officer of Wisconsin Electric Power Company, and Susan Maxman, past president of the American Institute of Architects.

U.S. Senators Jeff Bingaman, D-New Mexico, the current Alliance chair; James M. Jeffords, R-Vermont; U.S. Representatives Edward J. Markey, D-Massachusetts; and John Edward Porter, R-Illinois will serve as the evening's congressional co-chairs.

# # #

Return to Recent News Releases Listings Page

An archive of past news releases is available on line.

Return to What's New!

Do you have a question about this News Release?
Call us at 916-654-4989 or send e-mail to: