For immediate release: June 27, 2000
Media Contact: Claudia Chandler -- 916 654-4989

Willits Student Artist
Is Energy Art Contest Winner

Sacramento--A Willits student from Baechtel Grove Middle School will have her artwork displayed in California's Energy 2001 Calendar, according to an announcement made today by State Senator Wesley Chesbro (D-Willits).

Eighth grader Brooke Ekdahl entered the California Energy Commission's calendar art contest that asked young artists to envision energy in the coming century. For her entry, she created a unique watercolor painting to illustrate the importance of using renewable power sources.

With the title, "Sun power solutions can make the world a better place for everyone," Brooke's picture shows a modern California farm that generates electricity from renewable resources. The farmhouse and outbuildings use passive solar design to take advantage of the sun's warmth. Roofs sport solar water heaters, and solar panels and wind turbines create non-polluting electricity.

"Brooke obviously understands the importance of renewable energy," said Senator Chesbro. "She can be proud to be one of 12 young artists selected to illustrate the Energy 2001 Calendar. Her picture was one of those chosen from over 1300 entries from around the State that the Energy Commission received in this year's contest."

Winning students in the contest all receive a $200 United States Savings Bond. Brooke's third period teacher, Rick Lippman, will also receive a $50 cash award to purchase educational materials for the classroom.

The Energy 2001 Calendar art contest is underwritten by a consortium of public and private organizations.

Here are all 12 winners in the Energy Commission's 2001 art contest. They are arranged alphabetically by the city in which they attend school.

Kylie Gohsman 8th grade Fairfield
Soo-Yeon Kwon 8th grade La Crescenta
Ginah Kim 3rd grade La Crescenta
Jane Lee 7th grade Modesto
Christine Chen 5th grade Orangevale
Casey Gray 3rd grade Riverside
Adrian Maulawin 6th grade San Jose
Anly Tsang 7th grade San Leandro
Jiraporn Rungvivatjarus 4th grade Walnut
Chris McNeal 8th grade Wheatland
Jessica Whitesell 8th grade Whittier
Brooke Ekdahl 8th grade Willits

# # #

Note to Editors: Winning illustrations from the Energy 2000 Calendar Contest are available for downloading from the Internet from the Energy Commission's educational Web Site located at:

Alternative arrangements for receiving copies of the student artwork for reproduction may be made by contacting the Energy Commission's Media and Public Communications Office at (916) 654-4989.

# # #

Return to Recent News Releases Listings Page

Return to What's New!

Do you have a question about this News Release?
Call us at 916-654-4989 or send e-mail to: