For immediate release: June 27, 2000
Media Contact: Claudia Chandler -- 916 654-4989

Riverside Student Artist
Is Energy Art Contest Winner

Sacramento--A student from Monroe Elementary School in Riverside will have his artwork displayed in California's Energy 2001 Calendar, according to an announcement made today by State Assemblyman Rod Pacheco (R-Riverside).

Third grader Casey Gray entered the California Energy Commission's calendar art contest that asked young artists to envision energy in the coming century. Using felt tip pens, Casey created an illustration entitled "Solar Energy-Powered Vehicles" that shows a modern, sleek car driving through green California hills with the city of skyscrapers in the background.

"Smoke and the exhaust from automobiles pollute the air we breathe and the water we drink," Casey explained. "By the year 2001, we should have ÔSolar-Powered Vehicles' and this will reduce the pollution which will give California clear air and water. The sun is a great source of energy."

"While Casey's energy predictions are a bit optimistic, he understands the importance of solving California's environmental challenges," said Assemblyman Pacheco. "As one of 12 young artists whose work was chosen to illustrate the Energy 2001 Calendar, he can be proud of his accomplishment. The Energy Commission's art contest received over 1300 entries this year from students all over the State."

Students whose artwork is selected will receive a $200 United States Savings Bond. Teachers of the winning students will receive a $50 cash award for purchase of educational materials for the classroom.

The Energy 2001 Calendar art contest is underwritten by a consortium of public and private organizations.

Here are all 12 winners in the Energy Commission's 2001 art contest. They are arranged alphabetically by the city in which they attend school.

Kylie Gohsman 8th grade Fairfield
Soo-Yeon Kwon 8th grade La Crescenta
Ginah Kim 3rd grade La Crescenta
Jane Lee 7th grade Modesto
Christine Chen 5th grade Orangevale
Casey Gray 3rd grade Riverside
Adrian Maulawin 6th grade San Jose
Anly Tsang 7th grade San Leandro
Jiraporn Rungvivatjarus 4th grade Walnut
Chris McNeal 8th grade Wheatland
Jessica Whitesell 8th grade Whittier
Brooke Ekdahl 8th grade Willits

# # #

Note to Editors: Winning illustrations from the Energy 2000 Calendar Contest are available for downloading from the Internet from the Energy Commission's educational Web Site located at:

Alternative arrangements for receiving copies of the student artwork for reproduction may be made by contacting the Energy Commission's Media and Public Communications Office at (916) 654-4989.

# # #

Return to Recent News Releases Listings Page

Return to What's New!

Do you have a question about this News Release?
Call us at 916-654-4989 or send e-mail to: