For immediate release: June 28, 2000
Media Contact: Claudia Chandler -- 916 654-4989

San Jose Student Artist
Is Energy Art Contest Winner

Sacramento--A student from William Shepherd Middle School in San Jose will have his artwork displayed in California's Energy 2001 Calendar, according to an announcement made today by State Senator Byron Sher (D-San Jose).

Sixth grader Adrian Maulawin entered the California Energy Commission's calendar art contest that requested young artists to envision energy in the coming century. Using an ink pen and crayons, he created a futuristic car being plugged into an electric charging station. He calls his drawing "Energized California."

"Electric-Energized means of transportation will preserve a healthy, pollution-free California," Adrian explained. "Regular gas cars emit noxious fumes that harm the ozone layer and the human respiratory system. Electric vehicles would help solve these problems because they don't have emissions."

"Adrian's artwork depicts California's search for cleaner types of transportation," said Senator Sher. "He is one of 12 artists in grades three through eight whose work was selected for the Energy 2001 Calendar. He should be proud of his artistic accomplishment his drawing was chosen from more than 1300 entries received from schools all over the state."

Students whose artwork is selected will receive a $200 United States Savings Bond. Teachers of the winning students will receive a $50 cash award for purchase of educational materials for the classroom.

The Energy 2001 Calendar art contest is underwritten by a consortium of public and private organizations.

Here are all 12 winners in the Energy Commission's 2001 art contest. They are arranged alphabetically by the city in which they attend school.

Kylie Gohsman 8th grade Fairfield
Soo-Yeon Kwon 8th grade La Crescenta
Ginah Kim 3rd grade La Crescenta
Jane Lee 7th grade Modesto
Christine Chen 5th grade Orangevale
Casey Gray 3rd grade Riverside
Adrian Maulawin 6th grade San Jose
Anly Tsang 7th grade San Leandro
Jiraporn Rungvivatjarus 4th grade Walnut
Chris McNeal 8th grade Wheatland
Jessica Whitesell 8th grade Whittier
Brooke Ekdahl 8th grade Willits

# # #

Note to Editors: Winning illustrations from the Energy 2000 Calendar Contest are available for downloading from the Internet from the Energy Commission's educational Web Site located at:

Alternative arrangements for receiving copies of the student artwork for reproduction may be made by contacting the Energy Commission's Media and Public Communications Office at (916) 654-4989.

# # #

Return to Recent News Releases Listings Page

Return to What's New!

Do you have a question about this News Release?
Call us at 916-654-4989 or send e-mail to: