[ News Release picture montage ]

For immediate release: February 4, 2005
Contact: MaryAnn Costamgana - 916-654-4989

M E D I A     A D V I S O R Y

Energy Commission Appoints Nuclear Consultant To Diablo Canyon Safety Committee

Sacramento - California Energy Commission Chairman William J. Keese today announced the appointment of William Conway to a statewide committee that reviews and recommends safety procedures at PG&E's Diablo Canyon Nuclear Power Plant.

In a letter to the California Public Utilities Commission, Keese announced his selection of Conway to the Diablo Canyon Independent Safety Committee (DCISC). Conway has an extensive background in nuclear power plant operations and safety.

The Committee is a three-member group. The Governor, the Energy Commission, and the Attorney General each get to appoint one of the members. The Committee meets three times a year to assess and recommend improved safety measures at the Diablo Canyon Power Plant.

The Diablo Canyon plant, located in San Luis Obispo County, provides electricity for more than two million northern and central Californians from its two 1,100 megawatt units.

Conway's appointment extends through June 30, 2006. He replaces Philip R. Clark who served on the Committee since June 1995. Other members of the DCISC now include David Rossin and Per F. Peterson.

# # #

| News Releases Main Page | Commission Homepage | Site Index | Search Site | Links | Glossary | Contact Us |