[ News Release picture montage ]

Contact: Percy Della - 916-654-4989

Commission Wins EPA Climate Change Award

Sacramento - For 30 years of actively promoting the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, the California Energy Commission has been chosen to receive one of the 2005 Climate Protection Awards from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

The U.S. EPA said the Commission was included among the 17 awardees because of its range of programs to protect the Earth from the long-term effects of global warming. These activities include energy efficiency standards for household appliances, incentives for renewable energy, exports of clean energy technology, licensing of high-efficiency power plants, and development and deployment of alternative technologies and fuels in the transportation sector.

The award validates California's multi-pronged approach to help protect the environment, " said Energy Commissioner James D. Boyd. "It pays tribute in particular to the Energy Commission's state and national level leadership in climate change research, energy efficiency, renewable energy and alternative transportation."

Winners of the 2005 Climate Protection Awards include corporate, government, and individual achievers who have crafted international, national and state policies or invented technologies that have reduced energy consumption to protect the climate.

The winners will be presented on May 4 at a special EPA Awards Dinner at the Hotel Washington in Washington, D.C. Commissioner Boyd will receive the award on behalf of the Commission. Also to be honored are winners of the EPA's Stratospheric Ozone Protection Awards.

The EPA established the Climate Protection Awards in 1998 to recognize exceptional leadership, personal dedication, and technical achievements in protecting the Earth's climate. In its first eight years, 110 awards have been presented to individuals and organizations from 16 countries, including Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, France, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, South Korea, Sweden, United Kingdom, and the United States.

Kathleen Hogan, Director of EPA's Climate Protection Partnerships Division, who will present the awards said: "This year's Climate Protection Award Winners show what leadership and ingenuity can do in helping to protect our global environment."


| News Releases Main Page | Commission Homepage | Site Index | Search Site | Links | Glossary | Contact Us |