Go to Content | Go to Page Updated Information | Go to Footer
[ News Release picture montage ]
For Immediate Release: April 27, 2006
Media Contact: Claudia Chandler - 916-654-4989

California Energy Commissioner Art Rosenfeld Named
2005 Enrico Fermi Award Winner by President Bush

"Father of Energy Efficiency" Honored for Lifetime of Scientific Achievement

SACRAMENTO - California Energy Commissioner Arthur Rosenfeld, today's recipient of the 2005 Enrico Fermi Award, received the national award for career achievements in particle physics and innovations in energy efficiency.

"It is a privilege and honor to serve with Art Rosenfeld. He is the quintessential advocate for energy efficiency and there is no better recipient for this prestigious Presidential Award," commented Joseph Desmond, Chairman of the California Energy Commission. "As the 'father of energy efficiency,' he advocated California's building and appliance efficiency standards over 30 years ago, which have saved Californians billions of dollars. On behalf of my colleagues and the staff of the Energy Commission, we are proud to celebrate this amazing accolade with this amazing man."

Dr. Rosenfeld has served on the California Energy Commission since 2000. In 2005, he was appointed by Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger. He received his Ph.D. in Physics in 1954 at the University of Chicago and was Nobel Laureate Enrico Fermi's last graduate student.

In 1955, he joined the Department of Physics at the University of California, Berkeley. Later Dr. Rosenfeld led the Nobel Prize-winning physics group of Luis Alvarez at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory until 1974. From 1974 to 1994 he established and directed the Center for Building Science, focusing on the new field of energy efficiency. From 1994 to 1999, Dr. Rosenfeld served as Senior Adviser for the U. S. Department of Energy's Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy.

First presented in 1956, the award carries a $375,000 honorarium and a gold medal bearing the likeness of Enrico Fermi. Dr. Rosenfeld will receive the Fermi Award at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. at a date to be announced.

He joins a select, prestigious list of noted scientists including: Ernest O. Lawrence, Glenn I. Seaborg, Hans A. Bethes, Edward Teller, J. Robert Oppenheimer, and Luis Alvarez.

Dr. Rosenfeld is the co-founder of the American Council for an Energy Efficient Economy, the University of California's Institute for Energy Efficiency and the Washington-based Center for Energy and Climate Solutions. His awards and commendations include the Szilard Award for Physics in the Public Interest and the Carnot Award for Energy Efficiency from the U.S. Department of Energy.

More information about the Enrico Fermi Award can be found at: www.er.doe.gov/fermi

# # #

More information about Commissioner Rosenfeld is located at:


Governor Schwarzenegger Praises Arthur Rosenfeld on Receiving 2005 Enrico Fermi Award

U.S. Department of Energy News Release

UC Berkeley Press Release

Page Updated:
Go to Content | Go to Page Updated Information | Go to Footer