Go to Content | Go to Page Updated Information | Go to Footer
[ News Release picture montage ]
For Immediate Release: May 4 2006
Media Contact: Claudia Chandler - 916-654-4989

Energy Commissioner James D. Boyd Selected
For Haagen-Smit Clean Air Awards

SACRAMENTO - California Energy Commissioner James D. Boyd has been selected to receive one of three Haagen-Smit Clean Air Awards for 2006.

"As a fourth generation Californian, Commissioner Boyd's love for the state is reflected in his commitment to sound environmental public policy," commented Energy Commission Chairman Joseph Desmond. "Jim has served as an executive for the State of California for over 30 years, and it is an honor and privilege to work with a man of such integrity and dedication."

Mr. Boyd, chair of the Energy Commission's transportation committee, was selected for the category of Clean Air Policies.

Named after Caltech biochemist Arie Jan Haagen-Smit, a pioneer in the field of air pollution, the award is given each year to a scientific researcher, a policy maker and a health researcher.

The California Air Resources Board gives out the prestigious awards to individuals who "have made significant contributions toward improving air quality through their lifetime commitment, perseverance, leadership, and innovation, in areas of science, policy, technology, public education, or community service."

Mr. Boyd has been an Energy Commissioner since 2002. As transportation committee chair, he oversees the climate change and energy technology export programs. He also heads the Energy Commission's Natural Gas Committee that includes the Commission's work on Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG). He served as the Presiding Member of the Commission's first Energy Policy Report in 2003- a biennial undertaking that recommends energy policy to the Governor and the Legislature.

Mr. Boyd likewise chairs the state's Joint Action Climate Change Team and the state's Natural Gas Working Group; serves as the state's liaison to the Nuclear Regulatory Commission; and represents California on the Border Governors' Conference Energy Worktable.

Before coming to the Energy Commission, he served as Chief of Staff to the Secretary of the California Resources Agency. He served 15 years as the Chief Executive Officer of the California Air Resources Board (CARB), directing the nation's largest state air pollution control program. During this period, CARB led the nation in establishing new pollution control programs for motor vehicles and fuels, toxic air contaminants, consumer products, and industrial and area sources.

Robert F. Sawyer, PhD, chair of the Air Resources Board, will present the awards to the recipients on May 9th at the 2006 Haagen-Smit Symposium at the Seascape Resort in Aptos, California.

# # #

Page Updated:
Go to Content | Go to Page Updated Information | Go to Footer