For Immediate Release: February 27, 2014
Media Contact: Albert Lundeen - 916-654-4989
California Energy Commission Updating Appliance Efficiency Enforcement Process
Designed to Ensure Consumers Get Maximum Benefits of Efficiency Standards
SACRAMENTO - The California Energy Commission has begun a public process to ensure that consumers reap the maximum economic and environmental benefits of energy efficiency standards for appliances.
On Tuesday, the Commission held a public workshop to discuss proposed regulations that will establish an administrative enforcement process that helps ensure compliance with appliance efficiency regulations. The California Legislature authorized the Commission to establish a process that assesses monetary penalties not to exceed $2,500 for each violation to those who sell or offer to sell appliances that fail to meet the standards (Senate Bill 454, Pavley, Chapter 591, Statutes of 2011).
"Our goal with this rulemaking is to promote compliance with the state's energy efficiency regulations," said Energy Commissioner Karen Douglas. "Compliance will help to optimize energy savings, protect consumers, and create a level playing field for businesses selling appliances in California."
Since 1975, energy efficiency standards for appliances and buildings have saved California ratepayers more than $75 billion in electricity costs, reduced greenhouse gas emissions, and have protected California's environment.
"California's appliance efficiency standards have saved consumers billions in energy costs and significantly reduced greenhouse gas emissions," said Energy Commissioner Andrew McAllister. "This rulemaking process is complementary to our efforts, given that those benefits are fully realized when those who sell appliances in California and those who manufacture appliances for California abide by the standards established."
The Energy Commission held a pre-rulemaking public workshop Tuesday to discuss the proposed regulations and will be taking public comments on the proposed rulemaking until March 7. A formal rulemaking process will take place later this year where stakeholders and members of the public will have additional opportunities to submit comments.
Comments can be submitted to the Energy Commission by 4:00 p.m. March 7, 2014. Comments can be submitted by e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org and also mailed to the Energy Commission, Dockets Office, MS-4, 1516 Ninth Street, Sacramento, CA 95814-5512. Please refer to Docket #12-AAER-1. More information about public comments, the enforcement process, and the draft regulations is available at http://www.energy.ca.gov/appliances/enforcement/documents/index.html
# # #
The California Energy Commission is the state's primary energy policy and planning agency. Created by the Legislature in 1974 and located in Sacramento, six basic responsibilities guide the Energy Commission as it sets state energy policy: forecasting future energy needs; licensing thermal power plants 50 megawatts or larger; promoting energy efficiency and conservation by setting the state's appliance and building efficiency standards; supporting public interest energy research that advances energy science and technology through research, development, and demonstration programs; developing renewable energy resources and alternative renewable energy technologies for buildings, industry and transportation; planning for and directing state response to energy emergencies. For more information, visit: www.energy.ca.gov or www.energy.ca.gov/releases/.
Sign up for California Energy Commission news releases at http://www.energy.ca.gov/releases/.