Go to Content | Go to Page Updated Information | Go to Footer
[California Energy Commission Letterhead]

Notice of Advisory Committee Meeting on
New Solar Homes Partnership

The New Solar Homes Partnership Advisory Committee (Advisory Committee) will meet to discuss concepts for inducing solar and efficiency installations in new residential construction, and the Advisory Committee's roles and responsibilities.

Thursday, April 20, 2006
9 a.m.
1516 Ninth Street
First Floor, Hearing Room B
Sacramento, California
(Wheelchair Accessible)


At this first meeting of the Advisory Committee, members and participants will have an opportunity to collaborate and exchange views on the issues involved in developing the New Solar Homes Partnership. This and subsequent collaborative meetings and public workshops will provide members and participants a forum to ask questions and make comments and suggestions on elements of the New Solar Homes Partnership.


The Advisory Committee is an independent, informal stakeholder group established at the encouragement of Vice Chair Jackalyne Pfannenstiel under the direction of the California Energy Commission's Renewables Committee. The Advisory Committee includes representatives from the building, utility, and solar industries, and is co-chaired by Rob Hammon of Consol and David Hochschild of PV Now. A list of current Advisory Committee membership is available.

The California Energy Commission intends to develop a New Solar Homes Partnership as part of its implementation of the California Solar Initiative. Under the California Solar Initiative, it is envisioned that the California Energy Commission will develop an incentive program to encourage the installation of solar energy systems on new residential housing, while the California Public Utilities Commission will focus on incentive programs to encourage the installation of solar energy systems for the commercial and the existing residential markets.

The Renewables Committee is responsible for developing the New Solar Homes Partnership for the California Energy Commission's behalf. Commissioner John L. Geesman is the Presiding Member of the Renewables Committee and Vice Chair Jackalyne Pfannenstiel is the Associate Member.

While the Commissioners do not serve on the independent Advisory Committee, they are interested in facilitating this form of public and stakeholder participation. To this end, this Advisory Committee meeting is being held at the California Energy Commission and notice of the meeting is being posted on the California Energy Commission's web site. Future meetings, if any, as well Advisory Committee materials may also be posted on the Energy Commission's web site. Energy Commission Commissioners may attend Advisory Committee meetings.

For questions about the Advisory Committee, please contact Jeff Wilson at [jewilson@energy.state.ca.us] (916) 657-4774.

Vice Chair and Associate Member Renewables Committee

Date Posted: April 11, 2006

Mail Lists: renewablewg, energy policy e-mail list servers

Page Online:
Go to Content | Go to Page Updated Information | Go to Footer