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 Changing Your HVAC System? Don’t Forget Permits 
Avoiding HVAC Building Permits Costly for Consumers 

 

SACRAMENTO – Property owners who change out their warm-air heating, ventilating or air-conditioning 

(HVAC) system need to make sure that their state-licensed contractor takes out a building permit from 

their local building department to avoid fines and additional repairs. Building permits generate routine 

inspections to help assure that the system was installed properly, is functioning efficiently, meets Home 

Energy Rating System (HERS) testing and verification requirements, and complies with the State Building 

Energy Efficiency Standards. 

     During Contractors State License Board (CSLB) undercover sting operations at residential properties 

over the past three years, investigators have found a growing trend of licensed contractors who are 

violating state law by telling consumers that building permits are not required to install HVAC systems. 

“Up to 40 percent of the contractors who were invited to give project bids at sting locations told 

investigators that a building permit isn’t necessary, which simply is not true,” said CSLB Enforcement 

Chief Dave Fogt.  “Even worse, a homeowner’s insurance policy could be cancelled if their insurance 

company finds that work has been done on the property without a permit.” 

     Just as with all home repair, improvement or construction projects, homeowners need to ask about 

state and local requirements. Penalties for not obtaining an HVAC building permit vary from city to city.  

     “We want to make sure that consumers are aware of their project responsibilities and know the right 

questions to ask their contractor so they aren’t stuck with fines and an inefficient HVAC system,” said 

CSLB Registrar Steve Sands.  

     “We’re proud of the fact that CSLB receives relatively few complaints against its 300,000 licenses each 

year,” said Sands, “but this illegal trend of skirting building permits needs to be corrected. HVAC 
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contractors will continue to be sting and sweep operation targets.”  

     California’s 2008 Building Energy Efficiency Standards indicate that HVAC ducts should leak less than 

15 percent but, according to California Energy Commission statistics, the average duct system leaks 

about 30 percent, wasting energy and increasing utility bills.   

     When HVAC contractors (known as C-20 Specialty contractors) “pull” the local building department 

permit, the system can be inspected by the department or a third-party field verifier, referred to as a 

HERS rater, to ensure that ducts have been properly sealed. If an HVAC system fails inspection, it has to 

be repaired by the contractor at no additional cost to the consumer. 

     "Contractors must comply with all applicable California building standards, including using certified 

HERS raters to test and verify that HVAC installations meet energy efficiency standards," said Energy 

Commissioner Karen Douglas. "For the best energy efficiency and cost-savings, consumers will want to 

team up with their state-licensed HVAC contractors to make sure all permits and energy regulations are 

followed." 

CSLB urges consumers to follow these tips before hiring anyone to work on their home or property:  

• Only hire state-licensed contractors and ask to see their license and a photo ID to verify 
their identity.   

• Always check the license number on CSLB’s website at www.cslb.ca.gov or 
www.CheckTheLicenseFirst.com to make sure the license is in good standing and that the 
contractor has a workers’ compensation insurance policy if there are employees.  

• Only pay 10 percent or $1,000, whichever is less, as a down payment. There is an 
exception for about two dozen licensees who carry special bonds to protect consumers. 
These exceptions are noted on CSLB’s website. 

• Don’t pay in cash or let payments get ahead of the work. 

• Get at least three bids and three references for each contractor, and visit completed 
project sites in person. 

 
The Contractors State License Board operates under the umbrella of the California Department of 

Consumer Affairs.  More information and publications about hiring contractors are available on the CSLB 

website or by calling 800-321-CSLB (2752).  You can also sign up for CSLB email alerts. CSLB licenses 

and regulates about 300,000 California contractors in 43 different categories, and is regarded as one of 

the leading consumer protection agencies in the United States.  In fiscal year 2010-11, CSLB helped 

recover nearly $45 million in ordered restitution for consumers. 
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