Lithium Valley Commission (FACT SHEET



World demand for lithium is expected to grow as much as tenfold in the next decade driven largely by increasing demand for lithiumion batteries in electric vehicles and energy storage. The Salton Sea geothermal resource area is well-positioned to become a competitive source of this critical mineral which could potentially unleash billions of dollars of new economic infrastructure development.

To explore the opportunities and challenges surrounding lithium recovery from geothermal brines in the Salton Sea geothermal region,

Governor Gavin Newsom signed Assembly Bill 1657 in September 2020 creating the Blue Ribbon Commission on Lithium Extraction in California, known as the Lithium Valley Commission.

The Lithium Valley Commission is charged with investigating and analyzing a range of related issues collaboratively with other government agencies and members of the public. The Commission must submit a report of findings and recommendations to the state legislature by October 1, 2022.

Lithium Valley Commission Meetings

The Lithium Valley Commission holds public meetings to complete regular business and discuss specific topic areas through guest expert presentations, moderated discussions, questionand-answer periods and public comment. Staff from the California Energy Commission (CEC) provides operational support to the Lithium Valley Commission.

Meetings are typically conducted on the last Thursday of each month and usually include discussions of one or more of the following topics

Photo credit: BHE Renewables

identified for analysis in AB 1657 as well as findings and recommendations being considered for inclusion in the report to the legislature:

- · Lithium extraction methods
- Furthering geothermal development
- · Market opportunities for lithium extraction
- Environmental impacts
- Importance of incentives
- Economic impacts
- Workforce development
- Benefits of/to geothermal plants
- Overcoming challenges to lithium extraction

Lithium Valley Commissioners

The 13-member Lithium Valley Commission includes of a range of industry, government and community representatives appointed by the Energy Commission and others as the law requires.

- Chair Silvia Paz, Alianza Coachella Valley Appointed by Governor Newsom
- Vice Chair Ryan E. Kelley, County of Imperial Local city or county government representative Appointed by the CEC
- Steve Castaneda, South Bay Irrigation District, Sweetwater Authority
 Appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules
- Rod Colwell, Controlled Thermal Resources Economics and incentives representative Appointed by the CEC
- Roderic Dolega, Ford EV Purchasing National vehicle manufacturer representative Appointed by the CEC
- Miranda Flores, California Natural Resources Agency Appointed by the Secretary of the California Natural Resources Agency
- James C. Hanks Imperial Irrigation District Local public electric utility representative Appointed by the CEC

- Arthur Lopez, Torres Martinez Desert Cahuilla Indians Local tribal community representative Appointed by the CEC
- Luis Olmedo, Comite Civico Del Valle, Inc. Disadvantaged and low-income communities representative Appointed by the CEC
- Frank Ruiz, Audubon California's Salton Sea Program Local environmental organization representative Appointed by the CEC
- Manfred Scott, Quechan Indian Tribe, General public representative Appointed by the CEC
- **Thomas Soto**, Diverse Communities Impact Fund Appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly
- Jonathan Weisgall, Berkshire Hathaway Energy Lithium extraction industry representative, Appointed by the CEC

Stay Connected with the Lithium Valley Commission

CEC staff assists and provides coordination support for Lithium Valley Commission activities.

For information and access to documents, points of contact and to subscribe to the email list for the Lithium Valley Commission visit:

www.energy.ca.gov/LithiumValleyCommission

To request assistance, contact LithiumValleyCommission@energy.ca.gov.

For information about interpreting services or other reasonable modification and accommodations, contact (916) 957-7910 or publicadvisor@energy.ca.gov.



Governor

Gavin Newsom

Executive Director **Drew Bohan**

Commissioners

David Hochschild, Chair

Siva Gunda, Vice Chair Karen Douglas, J.D. J. Andrew McAllister, Ph.D. Patricia Monahan February 2022