Order Instituting Informational Proceeding
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act

Docket # 09-OII-1

The ad hoc committee overseeing this proceeding is:

Karen Douglas,
Lead Commissioner

The California Energy Commission on June 3, 2009, adopted an order instituting an informational proceeding to gather information to develop guidelines that will govern the administration and award of federal funds received pursuant to the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.

The guidelines will focus on the Energy Commission's implementation of the State Energy Program (SEP) and the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant (EECBG) Program and will describe program objectives, eligibility requirements and limitations, available funding, evaluation criteria, and administrative procedures to apply for funding.

The guidelines will be developed as part of a public process in coordination with the state's energy agencies, local governments, utilities and interested stakeholders and members of the public. To the extent possible, the guidelines will be developed on an expedited basis consistent with the purposes of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 and Governor Schwarzenegger's Executive Order S-02-09, which created the Federal Economic Stimulus Task Force.

The order establishes an ad hoc committee to preside over the proceeding. The Committee is referred to as the "Ad Hoc Committee on the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009." Chairman Karen Douglas was the original presiding member of the Committee and Commissioner Arthur Rosenfeld was the original associate member. Committee members were undated in January 2010 and are shown above.

Technical questions about the proceeding should be addressed to John Sugar at 916-654-4563 or via e-mail at jsugar@energy.state.ca.us.