Assembly Bill 1657 (Garcia), Chapter 271, 2020 (AB 1657), authorizes the California Energy Commission (CEC) to convene a Blue-Ribbon Commission on Lithium Extraction in California (Lithium Valley Commission), with 14 members appointed by a combination of the CEC, other state agencies, Assembly Speaker, and Senate Committee on Rules. The Lithium Valley Commission is charged with reviewing, investigating, and analyzing certain issues and potential incentives, as further detailed in the statute, regarding lithium extraction and use in California; and, to consult, if feasible, with the United States Environmental Protection Agency and the United States Department of Energy in performing these tasks. The statute requires the Lithium Valley Commission to submit, on or before October 1, 2022, a report to the Legislature documenting its findings and recommendations.


Silvia Paz, Chair

Alianza Coachella Valley
Member appointed by the Governor

Ryan E. Kelley, Vice Chair

County of Imperial
Represents a local city or county government in the Salton Sea geothermal resource area

Steve Castaneda

Member appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules

Rod Colwell

Controlled Thermal Resources
Member with knowledge of economics and the effectiveness of local, state, and federal incentives

Roderic Dolega

Ford EV Purchasing
Represents a national vehicle manufacturer organization

Miranda Flores

California Natural Resources Agency
Member appointed by the Secretary of the Natural Resources Agency

Martha Guzman Aceves

California Public Utilities Commission
Member appointed by the Public Utilities Commission

James C. Hanks

Imperial Irrigation District
Represents a local public electric utility

Arthur Lopez

Torres Martinez Desert Cahuilla Indians
Represents a local tribal community

Luis Olmedo

Comite Civico Del Valle, Inc.
Represents disadvantaged and low-income communities in the Salton Sea geothermal resource area

Frank Ruiz

Audubon California’s Salton Sea Program
Represents a local environmental organization

Manfred Scott

Quechan Indian Tribe
General member appointed by California Energy Commission

Tom Soto

Diverse Communities Impact Fund
Member appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly

Jonathan Weisgall

Berkshire Hathaway Energy
Represents the lithium extraction industry



Lithium Valley Commission
Please enter your first name.
Please enter your last name