Commissioners at the California Energy Commission

The governor appoints, with Senate confirmation, five commissioners to staggered five-year terms. The commissioners must come from and represent specific areas of expertise: law, environment, economics, science/engineering, and the public at large.

Picture of Commissioner Hochschild

David Hochschild
Appointment Designation: Environmental

Lead Policy Areas: Renewables

Picture of Commissioner Scott

Vice Chair
Janea A. Scott
Appointment Designation: Public Member

Lead Policy Areas: The Electric Program Investment Charge (EPIC) program, the Natural Gas Research Program, the Food Production Investment Program (FPIP), Western Interconnection Collaboration, and implementation of the recommendations in the Energy Commission’s Senate Bill 350 Barriers Study.
Active Siting Cases: Laurelwood Data Center

 Picture of Commissioner Douglas

Karen Douglas
Appointment Designation: Attorney

Lead Policy Areas: Siting, Compliance and Enforcement, Offshore Wind Planning Activities, Tribal Affairs, the Desert Renewable Energy Conservation Plan.
Active Siting Cases: Laurelwood Data Center

Picture of Commissioner McAllister

J. Andrew McAllister, Ph.D.
Appointment Designation: Economist

Lead Policy Areas: Energy Efficiency

Commissioner Monahan

Patty Monahan
Appointment Designation: Science/Engineering

Lead Policy Area: Transportation

Commissioner's Terms of Office

The Warren-Alquist Act became effective January 7, 1975, and Governor Jerry Brown appointed the first commissioners. Thus, each Commissioner's five-year-term expires on January 6th of the year in which that particular office needs to be appointed or re-appointed. Section 25206 of the Act gives the Governor 30 days to appoint a new commissioner or re-appoint the incumbent, and if the Governor fails to do so within that period, the Senate Rules Committee may appoint someone to that office. Governors have often made informal arrangements with the Chair of the Senate Rules Committee to give themselves more time.

Commissioners usually continue to serve until a new commissioner is appointed. Section 1302 of the Government Code says, "Every officer whose term has expired shall continue to discharge the duties of his office until his successor has qualified." This means that commissioners can continue to serve if they choose to do so until another person is appointed and takes the oath of office. Other provisions of the Government Code limit this "hold over" service normally to 60 days. If the Governor has not acted in that period of time, the office becomes "vacant" even if the former incumbent is willing to continue to serve.